UN proclaims 2019 the international year of periodic table

The United Nations (UN) general assembly has proclaimed 2019 as the International Year of the periodic table of chemical elements (IYPT 2019). In proclaiming an International Year focusing on the periodic table of chemical elements and its applications, the UN has recognized the importance of raising global awareness of how chemistry promotes sustainable development and provides solutions to global challenges in energy, education, agriculture and health. Read more


Among the different size categories of LPG ships, the small vessel segment is expected to be the best performer in 2018 while Handysize vessels will be the worst, according to the latest edition of the LPG Forecaster, published by global shipping consultancy Drewry. The LPG shipping market is currently oversupplied with vessels (with the exception of the small segment 1,000-5,000 cbm), as a result of strong fleet growth during the last three years. Read more


BASF SE has offered a new module for simulating applications of injection-moulded components. BASF’s Ultrasim simulation tool has long been able to deliver precise calculations of the anisotropic mechanical behaviour of fibre-filled plastics after manufacturing in the injection-moulding process. But another service has now been added: a thermomechanical model for fibre-reinforced thermoplastics now enables precise forecasts of temperature-dependent deformation via simulations. Read more



Lanxess AG said that it has made changes to the supervisory board. The board’s current chairman, Dr Rolf Stomberg (77) will resign from his office as a member and chairman of the supervisory board after the end of the annual stockholders’ meeting on 15 May 2018. Stomberg has recommended Dr Matthias Wolfgruber (64) to succeed him for the position of chairman of the supervisory board. Wolfgruber has a doctorate in chemistry, served as chairman of the board of management of Altana AG, and has belonged to the supervisory body as a representative for stockholders since 2015. Read more